BAETE Bangladesh

Home / About BAETE / BAETE Bangladesh

The present structure of the Board is as follows:

The Council of IEB is empowered by the general body and formed the Board of Accreditation for Engineering and Technical Education (BAETE), as per IEB’s constitution, to conduct the accreditation process and ensure the quality of engineering programs offered by institutions within the geographical jurisdiction of Bangladesh. The BAETE, subsequently referred to as “the Board,” is entrusted by IEB to establish the policy, procedure, criteria, and related systems to conduct engineering program accreditation. As ensured by the IEB constitution, the BAETE works as an independent and autonomous body within IEB. The BAETE provides recommendations for the Council of IEB to frame by-laws regarding the function and management of the Board. In this regard, the IEB constitution also gives the Council authority to delegate powers to the Board.

Composition and Terms of Office

The Council of IEB nominates the Chairman and the members of the first Board. Nominations to subsequent Board positions may be made by the president of IEB in consultation with the outgoing Chairman of the Board and other professionals/experts in the field. The structure of the BAETE is as follows.





Vice-President (Academic and International Affairs), IEB [Ex-Officio]


Honorary General Secretary, IEB [Ex-Officio]


Chairman, BPERB, IEB [Ex-Officio]


Vice-Chancellor, BUET or his nominee at the Senior Professor level


Chairman/Member of UGC (with a background in Science/Technical Education)


Two Vice-Chancellors from DUET/RUET/KUET/CUET/BUTex/BAU or their nominees at the Senior Professor level


One member from a private university with at least one BAETE-accredited program


One representative of the Ministry of Education not below the rank of Additional Secretary (with a background in Science/Technology) in the Government of Bangladesh


Representation from Industry


R&D establishments


Eminent educationists


Representative from the Accreditation Board/regional body of Asia & Pacific Countries




The Board elects one of its members to act as the Member-Secretary. The term of office for the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and members that are not “ex-officio” is four years. The Board meets to discuss administrative issues at a time, place and frequency chosen by the Chairman. The Board meets three times per calendar year, in January, May and September, to make decisions regarding accreditation applications.

Management and Finance

The Board maintains an office (the Secretariat of the Board) in the IEB Headquarters Building at Ramna, Dhaka. A full-time Registrar and a full-time Executive Assistant hold offices to maintain records and assist the Board with its activities.

In principle, the BAETE is a financially self-supporting body that obtains its funds mainly from fees from accreditation applications. Budget deficits, if any, are met by IEB. The BAETE also welcomes contributions from industries as part of their corporate social responsibility.

Sectoral Committees

The Board constitutes Sectoral Committees for different engineering programs under broad sectors (or disciplines), such as Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Chemical Engineering. The Board also defines new sectors as necessary. Each committee comprises three members, one of whom serves as the Chair, usually for a period of three years.

A Sectoral Committee member may accompany the Evaluation Team for on-site moderation to ensure adherence to the BAETE manual. The relevant Sectoral Committee is responsible for scrutinizing the report submitted by the Evaluation Team to ensure its compliance with the Board’s accreditation policy, procedure, and criteria. The Sectoral Committee forwards its independent recommendations and the Evaluation team’s report to the Board. Sectoral Committee members should be well versed in the BAETE accreditation process. No member of the Sectoral Committee should be a member of a current Evaluation Team or the Board.

Appellate Committee

If an institution is not satisfied with the Board’s accreditation decision, it may apply for a review of the decision by an Appellate Committee. The Appellate Committee is an independent committee consisting of three members, including the Chair. Its members are selected from among the former Board members, former Sectoral Committee members, and former Evaluation Team Chairs and are appointed by the IEB President after discussion with the Chair of the IEB Ethics Committee. The tenure of the Appellate Committee is three years.